Opera and Ballet

Teatro Regio, Tuesday 5 March 2013 - Wednesday 13 March 2013

Logo Italgas

Teatro Regio, Friday 15 February 2013 - Sunday 24 February 2013

Teatro Regio, Saturday 19 January 2013 - Tuesday 29 January 2013

Logo of Compagnia di San Paolo

Teatro Regio, Tuesday 15 January 2013 - Wednesday 30 January 2013

Teatro Regio, Friday 7 December 2012 - Friday 14 December 2012

Teatro Regio, Friday 30 November 2012 - Wednesday 5 December 2012

Teatro Regio, Tuesday 13 November 2012 - Sunday 25 November 2012

Teatro Regio, Friday 12 October 2012 - Sunday 21 October 2012

Opera and Ballet

Cover (detail)
Find Regio on recordings

Così fan tutte

The Opera signed by Ettore Scola

Teatro Regio, 10th April 2012 at 20.00

Così fan tutte by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart will be staged at the Teatro Regio on Tuesday, 10th April. It is a playful drama signed by Ettore Scola, the great film director who chose the Regio to debut in 2003 as an opera director. The American conductor Christopher Franklin will be on the podium.

The author of cult movies such as Una giornata particolare, C’eravamo tanto amati and La famiglia is back to Turin, to dedicate himself to the opera in a performance that was met with great support, thanks to the careful work Mr. Scola carried out with the singers. Paolo Gallarati wrote in La Stampa newspaper: «Ettore Scola has made Così fan tutte vital and enjoyable and absolutely up-to-date from beginning to end».

The staging, created by the set design laboratories of the Teatro Regio, uses the scenes by Luciano Ricceri and costumes by Odette Nicoletti. The direction of this edition will by Vittorio Borelli, the lights are by Andrea Anfossi.

Così fan tutte is the last comic opera written by Mozart and staged in Vienna in 1790, concluding the trilogy of Italian operas written by Mozart with the libretto written by Lorenzo Da Ponte. Così fan tutte was written following: Le nozze di Figaro (1786) and Don Giovanni (1787). In the libretto, Da Ponte depicts the cruelty of gender relations and the alleged physical and exclusively male domain of one person but, for the first time in the comic opera loyalty is tested by two ladies of high social class. Despite the originality of the story, Da Ponte creates a dense web of quotations ranging from Ovid to Boccaccio, Ariosto, Goldoni and Marivaux.

Syndicate content