Bach - Strauss - Schönberg - Respighi

Bach - Strauss - Schönberg - Respighi

Gianandrea Noseda, Conductor

Domenico Orlando, oboe

Filarmonica ’900 of the Teatro Regio

Johann Sebastian Bach- Anton Webern:
Fuga (Ricercata) n. 2 a 6 voci, dall’Offerta musicale (BWV 1079)
Richard Strauss
: Concerto per oboe e orchestra
Arnold Schönberg
: Kammersymphonie n. 2 in mib minore op. 38
Ottorino Respighi
: Antiche arie e danze per liuto, suite n. 1


A programme of great symphonic depth, the one offered by the Filarmonica ‘900, with the exploration of different musical spirits of the early twentieth century. Along with two pieces composed against the backdrop of the Second World War – the Concerto for oboe and small orchestra in D Major, which Strauss dedicated to the first oboe of the Philadelphia Orchestra, whom he met during the American occupation, and the Kammersymphonie no. 2 written 1939 by Schönberg while exiled in the States – there are two compositions that lead the exploration by such different composers as Webern e Respighi back to roots from the remote past: the Fugue (Ricercar) from the Musical Offering by Bach and the rereading of Ancient Airs and dances for lute.

Before the music

Teatro Regio, Monday 3 March, 19.45

Get together with Gianandrea Noseda

Gianandrea Noseda introduces the programme centred around the different spirits of the historic twentieth century, from the Viennese avant-guarde to post-Wagnerian music, finishing with Respighi’s rarely performed work.


  1. Monday 3 March 2008 - 20.30